Back at the CT Shala

Just in case anyone in my dwindling readership cares to know.

And I am LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVING it. I know I was back for part of the summer, and it was great then too. But then I had to take time off from the shala because the kids came home from camp and I started getting major pressure from The Husband to NOT pay for yoga when it comes free with my Gym membership (bleh – ANUSARA – not bad, just not for me, not now, not after years of Ashtanga’s silence and meditative constant movement into stilness).

Well, my Gym membership ended, finally! And I celebrated by rejoining the The Yoga Shala – CT in Georgetown, which has moved to a new space just down the road and a bit closer to the NY border. The new space is beautiful – sunshine streams in on the dark wood floors. I find a little nook near the window to place my mat and off I go. It’s delightful.

My relationship with Teacher is nice too. She’s a grownup, and she knows I am too. After four years on and off with her, we are able to dialogue about my practice. She is respectful, and she receives my respect in return. She encourages me to spread my wings and return to my more advanced practice (half of Second Series tacked onto half of Primary or all of Primary) when I am ready. Currently, I do not feel ready and am not anxious to be ready. What I am anxious for, if anything, is to be right in the middle of the sweet spot of routine.

Today, I am practicing at home, but I will do it in my home studio, not in front of the television. That will be today’s equivalent of getting into the routine. And I will be practicing shortly. Not waiting until I do this, that and the other thing.

Follow me on Twitter please for more quick-drive-by updates, and that way you can easily send me links to your blogs or tweets. It’s @yogachickie. If you don’t have Twitter, get it. It’s the wave….

YC

6 Responses to Back at the CT Shala

  1. Yogi John says:

    Damn shame to have lost you to Twitter 😦 Oh well…maybe you will consider blogging again in 2012. Twitter doesn’t do it for me.

  2. yogachickie says:

    I’m sorry! I’m working on a fiction project, so I don’t want to use up all my juice on blogging. I enjoy expressing little bursts of thought on twitter…follow me, or search for my tweets at @yogachickie. Maybe you’ll like it more than you thought?

  3. Amy Whelan says:

    What a wonderful blog! Glad you put a link on Twitter, Girlfriend!!!

  4. I am genuinely thankful to the holder of this web page who has shared
    this great post at at this place.

  5. I agree with you, gym yoga just doesn’t convey the same level of serenity I get from my local yoga studio. I understand why people practice at home, but I miss the shared community.

Leave a comment