Full Vinyasa Today

So, I did it. The Full Vinyasa Primary practice. I did it in my home studio, and I did it alone, but with some music. And it was boring and long, but definitely not difficult. In fact, the coming up to standing in between poses made it kind of eas. Not sure why. I would do it again on a low energy day, like today, where I know that the flexibility isn’t going to be the highlight of my practice, nor is the strength, and for lack of anything better to focus on, I can focus on endurance. Sort of. Since it wasn’t all that challenging.

As usual, I also added some Second Series stuff in where I thought appropriate: Pasasana right smack in the middle of Standing Series – after Parivritta Parsvakonasana, and then again after Marichyasana D. It just feels so damn good when I know I need a good back crack. Eka Pada Sirsasana, Dwi Pada and Yogi Nidrasana after Supta Kurmasana, which I did twice, once after laying out in Kurmasana for 25 breaths, and then again after I full vinyasa-ed out of it and back in again. Why? Because I had forgotten to full vinyasa out of it. Then I did all of the Second Series backbends before Urdhva Dhanurasana. Greg Tebb taught me some version of that a couple of summers ago (in his version, he selected some of the backbends, but not all of them). It was my first entre into Second Series. Pretty clever of him, I thought. It made UD so much better for me.

Been doing bedhangs for the past couple of days. Thought it was helping, it probably is. But it didn’t quite feel that way today. Ah, every day is different, and this yoga thing is never really linear, at least not for me.

YC

6 Responses to Full Vinyasa Today

  1. bindifry says:

    every day is different indeed šŸ™‚
    i like full viny. too. i also like 108 salutations!
    hey-i deactivated my facebook account. can you tell susan? i don’t have her contact email.

  2. grimmly says:

    See, said Full V wasn’t some masochistic trip. It’s just different. I like how you approach each asana from scratch rather than falling into the trap of seeing some as a group or prep for one of the big asanas.
    It can be challenging though, depending if you float back up to standing, press up to float back, slip in a handstand etc. Full V primary is longggg though, no time for pranayama etc. Intermediate not so bad, takes me 90 minutes most mornings.

    Had to rewrite this as I lost it all typing on a PC laptop instead of my mac (Still in bed with a bug). Why can’t they both put the @ key in the same place grrrr

    I’m with you on slipping LBH into primary after Supta K, makes such good sense and want to try try your long 25 breath stay in Kurmasana. I tend to do the same thing the other way around and inport extra prep poses into 2nd before Eka pada S.

    glad your enjoying your practice again.

  3. Ursula says:

    Exactly what I feel. Full vinyasas are somehow easier and more balanced. I prefer it.

  4. eatmovelove says:

    I really like this post. It puts into perspective that yoga is not some ‘saving grace’ all the time or always leaves you blissful – definitely not me. Some days I struggle to get in a 5- min practice (and I am doing a teacher training – yikes !!)…or am on the mat..and my mind is anywhere but there…and I just get angry :(…ugh, but I’m working on it. Accept where you are and accept the feelings and then move on, right? I blog about it at times as well – check out my site if you wish (or add me to your Roll!)..I love feedback/advice. Namaste.

  5. Emma says:

    sometimes, if it’s been awhile since a good, sweaty practice, the series can make me feel wiped. i hear it’s because you release crazy amounts of toxins, and, for awhile, your body feels it. drink lots of water… at least that’s the advice i get…

    cheers,

    emma

  6. Benito Tredo says:

    You’ll also have match options accessible from solitary table tournaments to multi-desk tournaments. Great players are in a position to sense strength and weakness from your voice and tone.

Leave a comment