Ashtanga is like crack.

And I’m on the pipe again. At least it’s a healthy obsession. But my monkey is nothing like the one sitting on Gina’s back.

Gina is sitting right next to me. We’re supposed to be watching a concert at the Middle School. But we’re whispering about our practice today. And Gina is confessing that after she got home, she was all over YouTube, researching leg-behind-the-head, and reading Matthew Sweeney – bhandas and breath.

Thankfully, I think my days of incessant reading and watching and researching are behind me. I just do my practice. And some of it is coming.

Today, Stan taught me that thing I always saw the other “kids” do in Sir’s room but that Sir never taught me: after UHP, the leg goes to (nearly) vertical and is held for five breaths. I don’t remember the breath sequence, but I won’t have to do it again until next week, since tomorrow is led Primary. And I’m not going to look it up, nope, not gonna.

Supta K was a bit of a breakthrough today. I managed to hold the bind even when the legs went behind the…neck was it? Who can tell. They did slip after a moment, but I managed to press up with the legs still Dwi Pada-ed.

But here’s the rub: right before Stan came up to me to give me the assist, I told myself to let go of the result. Why do things always happen when I let go of the result?

I hope I keep enjoying this. And I hope I don’t get all crazed and obsessed for real. Right now, I still have some control over this addiction. Famous last words?

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

2 Responses to Ashtanga is like crack.

  1. LI Ashtangini says:

    Utthita Trivikramasana – technically part of third series but a lot of ‘old school’ teachers will put it in with UHP. Glad to see you’re back.

  2. yogachickie says:

    Ah!! I remember now! It was fun!

Leave a Reply

