Kinda outrageous

Yesterday, my Facebook account was hacked and used by some morons who think that my Facebook friends must be morons, to try to solicit money from various Facebook friends of mine. The story was that “I” was mugged in the UK and needed help. I saw what was happening right before my very eyes. It was kind of surreal and kind of funny. And then I changed my password and moved on with my life.

Today, I found myself unable to log into Facebook, and moments later, I received this email from Facebook:

Hi Lauren,

Your account has been temporarily suspended for security purposes. Our systems indicate that your Facebook account has been compromised by cybercriminals attempting to impersonate you. These criminals often will try to trick your friends into sending them money by claiming that you are stuck in a far away location and need assistance. It is possible that your email account was compromised as well. As such, we have sent this email to all email accounts recently associated with your account. Obtaining access to a victim’s email is one of the primary ways these cybercriminals have been operating. Please take the following steps to regain control of your account:

They listed three steps, the first two of which I took care of immediately. The third step involves doing whatever they say to do in the next instructions they send.

I have to say that I am quite miffed. My facebook account was hacked, and now I have to suffer these inconveniences? Jumping through these facebook hoops to get my account back? What about the criminals who broke into my account?

I’m annoyed.

YC

2 Responses to Kinda outrageous

  1. I don’t blame you.

    Sounds like a real pain in the ass, and a serious security flaw at Facebook, too.

    Bob

  2. Carolynn LaRocca says:

    Dear YC,

    The same thing happened to me last night (11/6). I haven’t heard (yet) from any Facebook friends to tell me that they received email from me to ask them for money while adrift in the UK, however, I cannot access my FB page (it has been disabled).

    I’ve already changed my email password for safety. I’ve also sent an email to Facebook to ask to reinstate my page/account.

    Are you up and running on FB now? How did you further resolve things? I could really use help from others who have experienced the same probelm.

    Thank You,

    Carolynn

Leave a Reply

