Well…maybe it’s a good thing.

I googled myself. I was trying to determine if Google had yet “crawled” this new blog address and included it in searches. What I found was that (a) no and (b) it seems that my image has become synonymous with my bitching and whining about Ashtanga, at least lately.

It’s always a warm, fuzzy feeling when I find links to my writing, especially when said links are preceded with, “I thought this was smart” or “Check out this funny piece” or even “This inspired me” (okay, that one is rare, usually occurring approximately once per year, around the month of October, when pink pervades). But I was shocked (I don’t know why I should be shocked) and dismayed to see some of the reactions to Five Words That Do Not Belong In Yoga, as presented and linked to by other bloggers. Apparently, I’m perceived by some to be “bitter” and “going through” some sort of “thing”. As if I can’t have just fallen out of love with this particular yoga system. I am also, apparently, perceived to be personally attacking the ENTIRE population of Ashtanga teachers, and individually attacking all of my own teachers, without exception.

Apparently, my communication skills are not what they should be. Either that, or people read what they need to read into my writing, my criticism of certain aspects of the practice (FIVE WORDS, people. FIVE WORDS. Not the entirety of the system), in order to remain confident in their own choices.

I do know that I stand firm on this: criminal, crank, bad, cheating and pain are five words that do NOT belong in any yoga practice unless to say that it is criminal to crank a person into a pose, that it is bad to feel pain in the context of yoga and that cheating is just another way of saying “yes I can”.

YC

7 Responses to Well…maybe it’s a good thing.

  1. Anne says:

    This looks pretty – very crisp and clean.

    What I’ve learned in the past three years is that there are some people who are self-appointed guardians of the lineage and the tradition, who consider themselves yogic yet remain exceedingly intolerant of other people’s choices. Whatevs.

    Beads, flowers, freedom, happiness! I hope your new space is a happy one.

  2. Zaf says:

    La! To be honest, you do sometimes sound a little exasperated/bad tempered – but that’s one of the reasons I read your blog (you sound like a lot of my friends). Gotta be who you are, right? It’s generally interesting/amusing, even when I don’t agree – and it would be boring if I agreed with everything. It’s almost never mean hearted. It’s just fine, afai’mc.

    Wrt the five words, not that you asked, none of them seriously belong in yoga except possibly ‘cheating’ – and that only in the sense that some modifications that make it ‘look good’ (and when I look good I do feel good, I admit) can diminish the internal twist/turn/push/etc. that is the real point of the asana (and which makes it safe, and painless), so one ends up cheating oneself of the benefit. As for unseriously, I am greatly attached to ‘bad’ and ‘criminal’. As a drishti vampire I’m surprised that you aren’t.

  3. yogachickie says:

    Zaf, you made me laugh!!

  4. lauren says:

    Anne…Beads! Love! Freedom! Happiness!

  5. oneshotonex says:

    Because you offer your opinions publicly you’ll have to accept that not everybody will embrace them. Or you could let that bother you — it’s your choice.

    But I feel that just about any word is okay as long as it’s not spoken in present participle form. Yogaspeak should be strong, and not weak. Simple-present mandatives are best.

  6. yogachickie says:

    You mean like “the muscles around the buttocks are wrapping around the bones of the sacroiliac joint. you will be feeling this in the belly of the muscle”

  7. Grimmly says:

    Hi Lauren
    Found my way here at last. Like the Blue. Someone let me know that my link to your blog on my blog was causing my it to be blocked as well. Deleted that one and that seemed to clear it up but i heard other blogs are getting the same thing, basically anyone linking to you. Sigh, the internet is a GOOD thing right? Anyway, hope you have fun here.
    grim

Leave a Reply

