Today, yesterday and the day before.

Not in that order. Sunday, I got on the mat for the first time after six days off the mat – I had a really bad cold, the worst I have had in years. I could barely get out of bed for a couple of days there, and even now, I sound terrible, even if I am feeling mostly better. Did Half Primary, then three backbends, then closing. It was fine.

Yesterday, having only done Half Primary the day before, I was hungry for more asana, but I kept it to Primary and then a lot of backbends, then closing. Uneventful except to note that my back was bendy, but my wrists are still not great. I really don’t know what the problem is with my wrists, but I assume that the bendier my back is, the less the wrists will matter.

Today, I was exhausted and sore, but I got myself to the mat anyway. Since I wasn’t up for all the vinyasas of Primary, and I was curious as to what it would feel like to do three different practices in three different days, I did full Second, starting immediately after Parsvotanasana. Since I was also pressed for time, I made myself just plow right through it and not do any extra prep for anything. And you know something? It was awesome.

I love how I have no particular attachment to any poses in Second Series. I can’t have any taken away, and I can’t be given any. I know that Kapotasana isn’t happening now, or maybe ever, or maybe just now. We shall see. And I couldn’t care less about Karandavasana, so I just enjoy holding Pincha Mayurasana twice, each for 10 breaths. Finally, I know that Eka Pada comes and goes, but that even if I have to hold my leg in place with one hand, it doesn’t matter because I am not looking to practice the Third Series poses where you have to keep the leg there without hands. Hence, no attachment. I just don’t care, the way I used to not care when I took vinyasa classes and Bikram classes, and there was no linear agenda.

No linear agenda. Very very nice.

Bottom line, it was a great practice, and it went super-fast. From start to finish, less than 60 minutes, and I was sweating my ass off (which helped immensely in Yogi Nidrasana and Tittibasana C, but not so much in Mayurasana).

YC

3 Responses to Today, yesterday and the day before.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Why don't you want third series? I think you would be good at it.

  2. Yoga Chickie says:

    It is not that I don't ever want to do third, it's that I can't keep my leg behind my head without holding it, so I wouldn't be able to do a number of poses. Maybe if I can ever keep the leg behind the head without holding it with my hand, things like Chakorasana will make more sense for me.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I'm sure you will be able to keep your leg behind your head without holding it with your hand eventually.

    Not necessarily in the context of ashtanga – I used to practice Eka Pada while watching TV.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

