I’m so ashamed

Forgive me, Ashtanga, for I have sinned. I went to a Bikram class today. And God help me, it wasn’t even a legitimate Bikram class. It was a mere facsimile of a Bikram class, taught by someone who never trained with Bikram “but knew him during the 70’s.” My husband led me toward this misstep, but really, I only have myself to blame. I had a Chanukah party at my Place of Worship this morning and so could not get to the CT shala for my regularly scheduled practice, and as the day wore on, I felt increasingly incapable of facing the mat in my own home, with the thermostat reading a mere 68 degrees. And so, I did what I needed to do to eliminate some of the vatta imbalance that, for me, comes with the increasingly cold weather.

And I kind of liked it. And I would do it again.

Winter does strange things to my resolve.
God help me.

YC
7 Responses to I’m so ashamed

  1. Pink Heels says:

    Thank you for the good laugh! Jennifer

  2. laksmi says:

    god! you’re going to hell! (acutally, I’ve been thinking how doing some effing bikram might be a good thing…)

  3. eeyore says:

    oh well, the bisnu gosh line goes just as far down the yoga tree than krisnamacharya’s. and if you believe norman sjoman’s, “yoga at the mysore palace”, bikram’s is virtually as old a sequence, with the same roots in indian gymnastics and wrestling. for western bodies, like mine, it might even be a little safer.

  4. cranky housefrau says:

    i have done bikrams once. it was the only time i was warm last winter. i liked it. but it didn’t feel like yoga.

  5. eeyore says:

    i know, it doesn’t, does it?

  6. kayla says:

    My practice started out with Bikram, and I still go about once a week, mostly due to the fact that I am unmotivated to practice at home alone, and there is only one studio in town that offers a daytime primary series class during the week, and that only once a week.

    Bikram is addictive, no doubt about it. And there’s something soothing about going and zoning out, just following the directions. But having practiced ashtanga for the past year, I see now how there is a biiiig difference between Bikram yoga and ashtanga yoga.

  7. (0v0) says:

    This photo is perfect in so many ways. Wow.

Leave a Reply

