I quit you, Ashtanga, do you hear me? I. Quit. You.

Conversation with my mind:

“I am never going to get my spine to rotate at a 110 degree angle to my legs in Marichyasana C, like Richard Freeman. I am never going to float up into a handstand or consistently float (not jump) my legs through my hands. I am never going to lift my bakasana’d knees off of my upper arms and hover there before jumping back. I am never going to, never going to, never, ever, ever going to bind in Supta Kurmasana. Never. NEVER. Just forget it. I quit. Because it will never happen. None of it. EVER. You have no idea how bad it gets! I can’t make it on a coupla new poses once or twice a year. You are too much for me, you sonofawhoreson bitch…I just…well, I wish I knew how to quit you….”

“Alrighty then. So, see you at practice tomorrow?”

“Yep.”

YC

5 Responses to I quit you, Ashtanga, do you hear me? I. Quit. You.

  1. samasthiti says:

    Yep, see ya there!
    S

  2. Segio says:

    I’ve been there, too. Many times. Well, maybe not many, but definitely more than once.

  3. kathy says:

    damn. i quit too then. at least until Sunday.

  4. joni says:

    you don’t know how good it is to hear a die-hard ashtangi thinking exactly what i’ve thought during each ashtanga class i’ve taken! maybe there’s hope for me yet 🙂

  5. Anonymous says:

    You are funny! Got to stop in for a class with you the next time I am in NYC.

Leave a Reply

