A confession

I love my Tweezerman callous shaver. Too much, I think. I have little cuts all around the perimeter of my heels from overzealous callous-shaving. I am sporting about four bandaids on each foot.

And yet, I find myself unable to stop. It is indescribably satisfying to see literally years and years of dead skin peeling away, like snake skin. I feel as if I have lost a shoe size. The color of my feet is even different now (not counting the blood and scabs), having gone from a dull yellowish to a pretty pinkish color – the color of live skin! I had no idea I was carrying around all that dead skin.

But I really need to lay off until the little cuts heal. It’s going to be difficult.

My pal in the Canary Islands believes that I may have a problem here. That’s probably because as we were chatting today, I disappeared for a significant period of time to tend to my wounds. Even as I continued my callous-shaving. But it’s not a problem. Because I can stop anytime I want.

I can! See? I’m not callous-shaving now! And see? Not callous-shaving now either!

Yoga makes for some pretty damn calloused feet. But I’m cool. I’m still typing. Not shaving my callouses….NOT. SHAVING. MY. CALLOUSES.

YC

10 Responses to A confession

  1. samasthiti says:

    EEeeyyyeewwww…

  2. Anonymous says:

    You may have inherited this. I have been known to have the same compulsion.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I am obsessed with cuticle pens, I have them everywhere and constantly put oil on my cuticles. We all got something.
    Kiran

  4. Sergio says:

    Hope you’re not doing it right now.
    You aren’t, are you?
    DON’T!

  5. vivage says:

    Thats one way to get your heels off the ground in Kurmasana!

  6. Jody says:

    whitney does crak you shave your callous’. see everybody DOES have something!

  7. yoga chickie says:

    I am pretty sure that Whitney thinks “crack is whack” and that if she were going to use drugs, not that she would (!), it would be the real deal – somethin’ pricey like actual cocaine!

  8. Sara says:

    Oh my gosh, callouses are bad? I thought they were a badge of honor! hehe My feet are so thick I barely need shoes. Kind of embarrassing in class, but I divert attention with wild toenail colors.

  9. Michele says:

    Eeeee! Don’t go too far with the shaver! Get a pumice stone thingy of some sort ( I have a soft one like they do at the manicurist’s) and use it each time I jump in the shower. Usually I put in the plug so I can soak my feet while washing everything else, then I scrub. Works great and even the manicurist’s doesn’t need to shave anymore.

  10. Michele says:

    Eeeee! Don’t go too far with the shaver! Get a pumice stone thingy of some sort ( I have a soft one like they do at the manicurist’s) and use it each time I jump in the shower. Usually I put in the plug so I can soak my feet while washing everything else, then I scrub. Works great and even the manicurist’s doesn’t need to shave anymore.

Leave a Reply

